Flaxmere College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 365
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Henderson Road, Flaxmere, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8799833
- office@flaxcol.co.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Wearing of correct school uniform is compulsory
- Required
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
- Dance
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Drama
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Chess
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Choir
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Book Club
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Library Club
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Robotics
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 81
- Māori
- 298
- Pacific
- 67
- Asian
- 17
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 08 | 10 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 09 | 67 | 21 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 87 |
| Year 10 | 53 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 59 |
| Year 11 | 53 | 15 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 12 | 44 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 51 |
| Year 13+ | 38 | 8 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 44 |
| Total | 270 | 72 | 12 | 3 | 0 | 64 | 0 | 327 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 12 | 10 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 13 | 60 | 17 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 14 | 52 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 61 |
| Age 15 | 51 | 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 65 |
| Age 16 | 44 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 51 |
| Age 17 | 32 | 8 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 38 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 19+ | 14 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 270 | 72 | 12 | 3 | 0 | 64 | 0 | 327 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
57.8%
| Flaxmere College | 57.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 52.1% |
| Māori | 61.2% |
| Pacific | 81.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 46.2% |
| Total | 57.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
53%
| Flaxmere College | 53% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 57.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 50% |
| Māori | 55.2% |
| Pacific | 68.8% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 42.3% |
| Total | 53% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
32.5%
| Flaxmere College | 32.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 42.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 25% |
| Māori | 35.8% |
| Pacific | 31.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 19.2% |
| Total | 32.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
4.8%
| Flaxmere College | 4.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 8.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.1% |
| Māori | 4.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 4.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
48.2%
| Flaxmere College | 48.2% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 51.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 45.8% |
| Māori | 49.3% |
| Pacific | 56.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 38.5% |
| Total | 48.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
36.9%
| Flaxmere College | 36.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 15% |
|---|---|
| Male | 54.1% |
| Māori | 44% |
| Pacific | 9.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 36.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.3%
| Flaxmere College | 7.3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 13% |
| Māori | 6.5% |
| Pacific | 8.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 7.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.3%
| Flaxmere College | 4.3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.4% |
| Māori | 2.5% |
| Pacific | 9.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 4.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 558
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1978
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 21 April 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board did not attest to all areas (21 April 2023)
Areas the board did not attest to, in ERO’s words: Management of Health, Safety and Welfare. The report says what that meant and what happened next.
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 21 April 2023 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Emergency preparedness: regular emergency drills not completed.
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 21 April 2023 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Also provides
- Teen Parent Unit: Te Tipu Whenua ō pā Harakeke
Teen Parent Unit: Te Tipu Whenua ō pā Harakeke
- Kowhai Special School satellite
Kowhai Special School satellite
- Services Academy
Services Academy
- Teen Parent Unit: Te Tipu Whenua ō pā Harakeke
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 365 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2018
327
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 June 2018
March 2015
360
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 3 June 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 21 April 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Flaxmere College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Flaxmere College is in Flaxmere, Hastings and provides education for students Year 7 to 13. The school’s kaupapa is to promote excellence and equity to ensure all students achieve and enjoy educational success.
Flaxmere College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
ensure holistic success for all students
actively promote and guide distributive leadership capacity amongst staff and students
evaluate and develop the Flaxmere Way for consistent, effective, culturally responsive relational pedagogy (CRRP) for teaching and learning.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Flaxmere College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively the Flaxmere Way , including differentiation and CRRP, is promoting equitable and excellent learner outcomes.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the need to lift ākonga achievement and equity for all ākonga
continue to strengthen and embed culturally responsive and relational pedagogy
develop a localised curriculum that is relevant, responsive to learners and reflects Ngāti Kahungunu aspirations
a continued priority to strengthening attendance, engagement, retention and achievement
a need to strengthen leadership throughout the school, allowing greater staff and learner agency.
The school expects to see:
a responsive localised curriculum that embeds the Flaxmere Way and reflects the culture, interests and aspirations of learners and whānau
strengthened community relationships and collaboration to enrich opportunities for learners to become confident, connected and actively involved
improved attendance, engagement, retention and achievement
distributed leadership strengthened throughout the school, allowing greater staff and learner agency to promote equity and excellence.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how effectively the Flaxmere Way promotes equitable and excellent learner outcomes:
has leadership that consistently prioritises and plans for school improvement and for equity and excellent outcomes for all ākonga
is continuing to strengthen professional capability and collective capacity to improve ākonga outcomes, support improvement and innovation
is strengthening capability building for all staff, inclusive of te ao Māori, te reo Māori, me ōna tikanga and matauranga Māori
culturally responsive and relational pedagogy, through the Flaxmere Way for teaching, underpins teaching at the kura
has robust systems and processes for tracking, monitoring and reporting student attendance, engagement, retention and achievement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
strengthening capability of distributed leadership to embed the Flaxmere Way within a responsive localised curriculum
consultation and collaboration with whānau, hapū, iwi to develop a shared understanding of the Flaxmere Way, and ensure their aspirations are valued and embedded in the localised curriculum
professional development that strengthens teaching capability with a priority focus on ākonga with diverse learning needs.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Phil Cowie Director Review and Improvement Services (Central) Central Region | Te Tai Pūtahi Nui
21 April 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has
Teen Parent Unit: Te Tipu Whenua ō pā Harakeke
Kowhai Special School satellite
Services Academy
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).