Elim Christian College
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 1,071
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 159 Botany Road, Howick South, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Howick Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-5380368
- office@elim.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.elim.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
All required uniform can be purchased from John Russell Schoolwear.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://johnrussellschoolwear.co.nz/
Website: https://johnrussellschoolwear.co.nz/
- https://johnrussellschoolwear.co.nz/
- How to enrol
- https://forms.gle/Q3zEDc3kYh4M1iDh9
Parents / Caregivers are welcome to make an application using the [Online Application Form](https://forms.gle/Q3zEDc3kYh4M1iDh9)
- https://forms.gle/Q3zEDc3kYh4M1iDh9
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Elim International welcomes students across Years 1-13.
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- $400.00 per annum per student ($100 per term), 2026
Proprietor’s Special Character Donation $400.00 per annum per student (i.e. $100 per term) for the year of 2026
- $400.00 per annum per student ($100 per term), 2026
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Jazz
Dedicated co-curricular programmes in Jazz, Rock, Choral, Chamber/Orchestral Music and Tech Crew cater for all ages and skill levels and encourage participation in a wide range of performances and competitions.
- Rock
Dedicated co-curricular programmes in Jazz, Rock, Choral, Chamber/Orchestral Music and Tech Crew cater for all ages and skill levels and encourage participation in a wide range of performances and competitions.
- Choral
Dedicated co-curricular programmes in Jazz, Rock, Choral, Chamber/Orchestral Music and Tech Crew cater for all ages and skill levels and encourage participation in a wide range of performances and competitions.
- Chamber/Orchestral Music
Dedicated co-curricular programmes in Jazz, Rock, Choral, Chamber/Orchestral Music and Tech Crew cater for all ages and skill levels and encourage participation in a wide range of performances and competitions.
- Tech Crew
Dedicated co-curricular programmes in Jazz, Rock, Choral, Chamber/Orchestral Music and Tech Crew cater for all ages and skill levels and encourage participation in a wide range of performances and competitions.
- Instrumental & Vocal Tuition Programme
- Jazz
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 523
- Māori
- 43
- Pacific
- 59
- Asian
- 490
- MELAA
- 57
- Other
- 23
- International
- 50
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 2 | 23 | 3 | 1 | 15 | 0 | 41 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 6 | 19 | 2 | 1 | 29 | 0 | 53 |
| Year 03 | 0 | 4 | 24 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 0 | 46 |
| Year 04 | 1 | 4 | 26 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 1 | 53 |
| Year 05 | 1 | 2 | 29 | 3 | 1 | 31 | 2 | 60 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 2 | 3 | 28 | 0 | 51 |
| Year 07 | 3 | 5 | 34 | 6 | 2 | 51 | 4 | 96 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 3 | 34 | 5 | 0 | 58 | 5 | 95 |
| Year 09 | 7 | 7 | 32 | 7 | 3 | 52 | 3 | 95 |
| Year 10 | 4 | 6 | 43 | 2 | 2 | 49 | 10 | 104 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 6 | 29 | 5 | 3 | 48 | 10 | 99 |
| Year 12 | 6 | 9 | 40 | 3 | 5 | 61 | 9 | 115 |
| Year 13+ | 4 | 9 | 32 | 2 | 0 | 44 | 3 | 86 |
| Total | 38 | 63 | 389 | 40 | 22 | 508 | 47 | 994 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 1 | 2 | 23 | 3 | 1 | 16 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 6 | 18 | 2 | 1 | 28 | 0 | 51 |
| Age 07 | 0 | 4 | 25 | 0 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 48 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 3 | 26 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 1 | 50 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 3 | 28 | 3 | 1 | 32 | 2 | 60 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 2 | 4 | 31 | 0 | 53 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 5 | 33 | 4 | 1 | 40 | 1 | 81 |
| Age 12 | 3 | 2 | 34 | 6 | 0 | 51 | 7 | 91 |
| Age 13 | 7 | 7 | 32 | 6 | 3 | 60 | 2 | 97 |
| Age 14 | 5 | 6 | 42 | 4 | 2 | 43 | 5 | 96 |
| Age 15 | 1 | 6 | 28 | 5 | 2 | 49 | 9 | 94 |
| Age 16 | 8 | 9 | 33 | 2 | 5 | 60 | 13 | 113 |
| Age 17 | 6 | 7 | 35 | 3 | 1 | 53 | 4 | 98 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 3 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 3 | 19 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 38 | 63 | 389 | 40 | 22 | 508 | 47 | 994 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
96.6%
| Elim Christian College | 96.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 97.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 95.7% |
| Total | 96.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
95.5%
| Elim Christian College | 95.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.4% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 97.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 93.6% |
| Total | 95.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
84.1%
| Elim Christian College | 84.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.2% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 60% |
| Asian | 85.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.1% |
| Total | 84.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
4.5%
| Elim Christian College | 4.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.1% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 10% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 6.4% |
| Total | 4.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
95.5%
| Elim Christian College | 95.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.4% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 97.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 91.5% |
| Total | 95.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.4%
| Elim Christian College | 6.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 10.3% |
| Māori | 20.3% |
| Pacific | 15.2% |
| Asian | 2.4% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 9.6% |
| Total | 6.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.2%
| Elim Christian College | 5.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.8% |
| Māori | 18.1% |
| Pacific | 13.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 9% |
| Total | 5.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Elim Christian College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 379
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 4 February 1988
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 24 September 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (24 September 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 24 September 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 24 September 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 1 to 13
provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13
- Years 1 to 13
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1071 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
1206
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 14 February 2020
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 24 September 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the School
Elim Christian College is a state-integrated special character area school founded on the Elim Statement of Faith. The school, located in Botany, East Auckland, provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13 over two campuses: Golflands Campus for students in Years 1 to 10, and Botany Campus for students in Years 11 to 13. The school roll is 1000 with half of learners identifying as Pākehā / NZ European, 30% Asian
The ARISE framework of Achievement , Responsibility , Inspiration , Skills and Elim Christian Character embodies the school’s vision and underpins all aspects of the school.
Since the previous ERO review, there have been significant changes to the school’s leadership team, including a new principal at the beginning of 2025.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 65% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Most students are engaged, make good progress and achieve very well.
Almost all students leave school with at least NCEA Level 2; a large majority of students achieve NCEA Level 3 and University Entrance, with some disparity for boys; almost all students achieve Level 1 Literacy and most achieve Level 1 Numeracy by the end of Year 11.
By the end of Year 6, almost all students are at or above expected levels in reading and mathematics, and most students are at or above expected levels in writing.
By the end of Year 10, a large majority of students are at or above expected levels in reading, writing and mathematics.
A large majority of students attend school regularly; the school is approaching the Government’s target for regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Strategic and effective leadership is strengthening systems and processes to further improve student outcomes.
School leaders and the board set and pursue targeted and coherent improvement goals aligned to Government priorities.
School leaders promote high expectations for all staff and students within a culture of care; relational trust is evident at every level of the school community.
A systematic approach to planning for sustained school improvement is in place and informed by quality evidence and evaluation.
Students benefit from purposeful, evidence-based teaching that supports equitable and excellent outcomes.
Students lead their own learning; they speak confidently about their learning progress and next steps as they transition through the school.
Students have sufficient opportunities to learn across the breadth of The New Zealand Curriculum ; school leaders are exploring how to further enhance and personalise pathways for senior students.
High-quality teaching practice and a shared staff understanding of learning progressions across the curriculum provide students with a consistent and connected focus on literacy and numeracy from years 0 to 13.
Explicit instruction and effective and well-paced implementation of structured approaches to teaching continue to be a focus for teachers and leaders.
Teacher capability and confidence in their use of student achievement information to inform teaching practice is being strengthened.
The school has well-aligned systems, structures and processes to bring about success and improvement over time.
The ARISE framework, which explicitly incorporates the school’s special character, is embedded and integrated throughout all aspects of school life.
Relationships between staff and students are founded on mutual trust; students experience a supportive and inclusive learning environment where their wellbeing and belonging are prioritised.
Te reo Māori, tikanga Māori and mātauranga Māori are increasingly included across the school curriculum and continue to be a priority area for improvement for teachers, leaders and the School Board.
School leaders and the Board deliberately develop and implement organisational systems and processes to achieve alignment and continuity across the two school campuses.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school.
Key priorities
Improve the use of information about students’ learning needs and achievement data in decision making and teaching practice.
Refine explicit and structured teaching approaches across the school to accelerate progress and improve student outcomes.
Strengthen partnerships with local and regional whānau, hapū and iwi Māori to enhance bicultural capability and capacity across the school community.
Review the provision of learning and career pathways for students in the senior years to inform next steps.
Actions to bring about improvement
Every six months:
leaders review the effectiveness of professional learning for teachers on explicit and structured approaches and identify next steps
teachers and leaders monitor success of initiatives for improving student outcomes in literacy and numeracy
school leaders review the senior school curriculum based on student feedback, achievement data, planned learning pathways, and parent or whānau aspirations
Annually:
leaders across the school evaluate the effectiveness of teaching and learning on improving student outcomes and prioritise future professional learning
leaders collect ākonga and whānau Māori voice to inform an evaluation of the effectiveness of partnerships between the school and mana whenua
the School Board and leaders review the senior school curriculum, with consideration to breadth, depth and student pathways and identify improvement priorities.
Expected outcomes
Enhanced student outcomes, including attendance, engagement, retention and achievement.
Teachers confidently using student information and achievement data to inform teaching and learning.
Strengthened partnerships with whānau, hapū and iwi Māori and the integration of mātauranga Māori enhance the school’s special character.
Increased breadth of the senior curriculum and personalisation of student pathways.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
24 September 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).