Columba College
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 608
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Primary Co-Ed/Secondary Girls
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 399 Highgate, Roslyn, Dunedin
- Territorial authority
- Dunedin City
- Phone
- 03-467 5188
- admin@columbacollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Dunedin · schools in Otago
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students are expected to wear the school and sports uniforms correctly, to comply with the College’s uniform standards and dress codes at all times and to maintain a high standard of appearance and grooming.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our values are: Good Discipline, Respect, Aroha, Citizenship, Excellence or GRACE
- Special character
- The school’s mission and values stem from its special character and that ‘The life and teaching of Jesus informs the way we live’. The school’s motto gratia et disciplina bona (with grace and good discipline) is integral to Columba College’s philosophy.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
Annual Inter-House sporting competitions are held, and all students are encouraged to participate Athletics and Swimming Sports.
- Swimming Sports
Annual Inter-House sporting competitions are held, and all students are encouraged to participate Athletics and Swimming Sports.
- Annual Inter-House sporting competitions
Annual Inter-House sporting competitions are held
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 461
- Māori
- 51
- Pacific
- 31
- Asian
- 113
- MELAA
- 13
- Other
- 15
- International
- 19
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 03 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 04 | 1 | 2 | 8 | 1 | 1 | 17 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 20 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 26 |
| Year 07 | 1 | 3 | 16 | 0 | 2 | 38 | 0 | 57 |
| Year 08 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 3 | 2 | 27 | 0 | 37 |
| Year 09 | 6 | 6 | 10 | 1 | 5 | 54 | 6 | 77 |
| Year 10 | 7 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 62 | 2 | 75 |
| Year 11 | 8 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 2 | 58 | 4 | 70 |
| Year 12 | 7 | 6 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 75 | 6 | 87 |
| Year 13+ | 8 | 1 | 7 | 2 | 1 | 46 | 4 | 60 |
| Total | 49 | 30 | 89 | 12 | 18 | 464 | 22 | 593 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 07 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 08 | 1 | 2 | 8 | 0 | 1 | 16 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 09 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 20 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 10 | 1 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 26 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 0 | 2 | 27 | 0 | 41 |
| Age 12 | 2 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 2 | 34 | 0 | 50 |
| Age 13 | 6 | 5 | 10 | 1 | 3 | 48 | 3 | 64 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 6 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 60 | 3 | 76 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 3 | 58 | 3 | 70 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 67 | 6 | 77 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 2 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 53 | 6 | 70 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 15 |
| Total | 49 | 30 | 89 | 12 | 18 | 464 | 22 | 593 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Columba College | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
98.3%
| Columba College | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.9% |
| Total | 98.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
91.4%
| Columba College | 91.4% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.6% |
| Total | 91.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
17.2%
| Columba College | 17.2% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 14.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 37.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 12.5% |
| Total | 17.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
98.3%
| Columba College | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.9% |
| Total | 98.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.6%
| Columba College | 5.6% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 5.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 28.8% |
| Asian | 23.1% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.6% |
| Total | 5.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Columba College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Columba College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 391
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1915
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 8
- Last reviewed
- 6 September 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 September 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 6 September 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 September 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Columba College is in Roslyn, Dunedin. It is a Presbyterian, state-integrated day and boarding school for girls from Years 7 to 13, with a co-educational junior school from Years 1 to 6. The school’s ‘GRACE’ values are centred on developing g ood discipline, respect, aroha, citizenship and excellence. A new principal was appointed in 2023.
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) published report and subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner outcomes and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the previous report in August 2022, ERO and the school have worked together to evaluate how the middle school curriculum can support high expectations and equitable student learning pathways .
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
A learner profile embedded in the middle school curriculum focused on developing grit, responsible risk-taking, autonomy, collaboration and engagement .
A pilot programme has introduced a revised middle school programme design emphasising 21st-century skills development.
Student, staff and community consultation has informed the future direction of learner profiles .
The school has gained valuable learning from the evaluation process, including the importance of student reflection to build learning-to-learn capabilities, the importance of communication with the school community and the impact of the evaluation on informing school improvement.
A student who embodies the school values of GRACE as both a learner and a person.
Students continue to develop their understandings of the GRACE values and the importance of their roles in developing students’ full potential as learners and global citizens.
A reinvigorated curriculum design responding to the needs, interests and aspirations of a 21st Century learner, while imparting a robust foundation for success in the senior school.
Students, staff and the school community have endorsed the importance of a broad middle school curriculum, with opportunities for choice and diversity in the learning areas offered.
The greatest shift in response to the school’s actions is an ongoing commitment to consult widely with students, staff and the school community to inform school improvement.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Student outcomes are equitable and excellent, supported by a school culture focused on students reaching their potential.
Most Year 7 to 10 students are achieving at, above or well above the curriculum level across all learning areas, with most Year 10 students passing the National Certificate of Educational Achievement ( NCEA) literacy and numeracy requirements.
Year 11, 12 and 13 students achieve very well, with most attaining merit or excellence endorsement in NCEA, as well as several New Zealand Scholarship awards; Māori student achievement is comparable to their peers in the school in NCEA achievement rates.
Student attendance is above the Ministry of Education’s national attendance target.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic leadership is embedding improvements to school conditions that promote student success.
Leadership is developing and putting in place the school’s strategic pastoral, curriculum and cultural priorities to drive school improvement.
Leadership is extending evaluation practices more widely to understand their impact on all learners’ well-being , progress and achievement .
Curriculum design is increasingly broadening to meet students’ learning needs and interests.
Leaders’ and teachers’ approach to curriculum development emphasises digital competencies across all learning areas in order to develop students’ learning-to-learn capabilities.
Leaders and teachers design programmes at all levels of the school to effectively support students who require extra assistance and to extend and challenge those with particular abilities.
Organisational conditions are increasingly coherent and support school improvement.
The pastoral support system fosters students' well-being; students benefit from teachers who know them well as individuals and as learners as they progress through the school from Years 1 to 13.
The school continues to strengthen its partnership with the broader community by focusing on connecting with whānau , the Presbyterian Church and the Araiteuru Marae .
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
build on the school’s 2023 structural review of its pastoral, curriculum and cultural initiatives to further inform school improvement and understand their impact on all learners’ well-being , progress and achievement
continue to embed bicultural and multicultural understandings and responsiveness in wellbeing and learning initiatives across the school.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
seek learner feedback to ensure programmes at all levels are fit for purpose and relevant to learner needs, interests and aspirations
continue to use surveys, community consultation and focus groups to inform school well-being improvements
develop bicultural and multicultural connections with the community and increase the presence of te reo Māori and tikanga Māori in the school.
Every six months:
report on student wellbeing, achievement and cultural developments to the board and respond to emerging needs as required
share best practices across the school to support the continued development of responsive and engaging programmes at all levels.
Annually:
to inform school improvement, provide evaluative reports to the board on pastoral, curriculum and cultural developments and their impact on learners’ attendance, well-being, progress and achievement
continue to develop internal evaluation capacity to understand better the effectiveness of initiatives, programmes, and practices.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
the continued development of coherent, relevant programmes at all levels of the school and their positive impact on student engagement, progress and achievement
regular opportunities to learn and use te reo Māori and tikanga Māori , as well as to reflect and celebrate students’ different cultures within the school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 September 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 8 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).