Collingwood Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 155
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 36 Lewis Street, Collingwood
- Territorial authority
- Tasman District
- Phone
- 03-5248125
- admin@collingwood.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Tasman
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Compulsory for New Entrants to Year 6 CAS Junior Fleece $65 or CAS Junior Crew $30 CAS Junior Polo $42 And any black bottom (skirt/shorts/track pants)
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://collingwoodareaschool.nzuniforms.com/
All sales are through the NZ Uniform site only: [https://collingwoodareaschool.nzuniforms.com/](https://collingwoodareaschool.nzuniforms.com/)
- https://collingwoodareaschool.nzuniforms.com/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Collingwood Area School warmly welcomes both international fee-paying and exchange students to our kura (school).
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 143
- Māori
- 30
- Pacific
- 3
- Asian
- 3
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 2
- International
- 3
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 03 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 05 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 06 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 09 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 10 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 11 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 12 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 13+ | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 22 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 143 | 0 | 150 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 08 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 09 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 15 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 22 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 143 | 0 | 150 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.7%
| Collingwood Area School | 86.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 82.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 86.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
80%
| Collingwood Area School | 80% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 72.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.4% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 80% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
46.7%
| Collingwood Area School | 46.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 43.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 37.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.1% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 46.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
13.3%
| Collingwood Area School | 13.3% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 13.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
80%
| Collingwood Area School | 80% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 77.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.4% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 80% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Pacific | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.4%
| Collingwood Area School | 7.4% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 33% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.4% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.8% |
| Total | 7.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Collingwood Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 3.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Collingwood Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 2.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 461
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 25 January 1978
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 15 April 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (15 April 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 15 April 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 155 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2015
117
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 8 September 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 15 April 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 24 months of the Education Review Office and Collingwood Area School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Collingwood Area School is rurally located in Collingwood, in Golden Bay, and is a member of Kāhui Ako ki Mohua . The school provides education for students in Years 1 to 13, fostering the values of Manaakitanga /Care, Ako /Learn, and Kaitiakitanga /Give. The school’s vision is ‘Connecting to others, our environment, and the future’. The school has completed a significant building project, with new purpose-built classrooms that opened in 2024.
Collingwood Area School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
embedding renewed values and vision to guide school direction and culture
creating a Māori Education Plan to ensure Māori students experience success, as Māori
authentically connecting the localised curriculum to the Mohua environment, with iwi support
successfully implementing changes to NCEA, for senior students’ success.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Collingwood Area School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate leadership of responsive curriculum and teaching innovations, including relationships designed to strengthen learner success and wellbeing.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the board and leaders initiated a comprehensive strategic review and revisioning process that has prioritised further growth of the localised curriculum, and associated wellbeing, teaching and learning practices
leaders have initiated a team coaching model and professional inquiry groups, assisting teachers to collaborate and purposefully reflect on the effectiveness and impact of their practice, and grow teaching and relationships that are highly attuned to learner strengths.
The school expects to see collaborative teaching teams consistently enacting a responsive pedagogy of relationships for learning, including culturally responsive relationships. Whānau , families, iwi and the wider community will be highly involved in curriculum developments and the life of the school. Students will enjoy engaging in meaningful learning that builds on prior knowledge and strengths, fosters the school’s values, and promotes wellbeing, learning and achievement at all levels of the school.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate leadership of responsive curriculum and teaching innovations, including relationships designed to strengthen learner success:
Analysed achievement data shows the majority of learners achieving well in relation to New Zealand Curriculum expectations, and a consistently strong pattern of NCEA success for senior students over time, who enjoy small class sizes and personalised, varied learning opportunities.
A welcoming, friendly and caring school culture is evident, where wellbeing and positive relationships are prioritised, and individual strengths and talents are valued and proactively nurtured.
Mana whenua is continuing to work in partnership with the school to support an authentic weaving of a cultural narrative through the school’s developing curriculum, teaching and relationships.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
using their ‘evaluation for improvement’ plan to investigate current teaching and learning approaches, including relationships for learning, to identify opportunities for further curriculum and practice developments
leaders working with staff, students, whānau and families to define and formally document their collective expectations for quality teaching and learning practices across the school, arising from the internal evaluation
honing leadership systems and structures that build, embed and monitor agreed teaching approaches, fostering consistent implementation of the curriculum in action, and promoting positive, mana -enhancing relationships for learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
15 April 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).