Christchurch Adventist School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 285
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 15 Grants Road, Papanui, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-3529173
- accounts@cas.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.cas.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Winter uniform is compulsory for Terms 2 and 3, but can be worn all year.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://christchurchadventist.nzuniforms.com/
To ensure consistency across our school family, all items must be purchased through: NZ Uniforms Address: 455 Blenheim Road, Sockburn, Christchurch 8042 Online: [www.nzuniforms.com](https://christchurchadventist.nzuniforms.com/)
- https://christchurchadventist.nzuniforms.com/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Educating for eternity through GROWTH [an acronym for Godliness, Rich Relationships, Ownership, Wisdom, Transformational learning & Harvest] is the expression of curriculum and the guide for teaching and learning practice at Christchurch Adventist School.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
As International Students are not funded by the NZ Government, the following tuition and administration fees apply (all prices in NZD and include GST).
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 103
- Māori
- 11
- Pacific
- 62
- Asian
- 74
- MELAA
- 44
- Other
- 16
- International
- 1
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 10 | 2 | 19 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 7 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 13 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 03 | 1 | 12 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 04 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 05 | 1 | 9 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 29 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 5 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 07 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 5 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 7 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 10 | 2 | 7 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 11 | 2 | 6 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 6 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 2 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 17 |
| Total | 14 | 75 | 67 | 32 | 1 | 126 | 2 | 268 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 4 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 10 | 2 | 20 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 6 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 10 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 11 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 08 | 1 | 2 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 8 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 10 | 2 | 5 | 6 | 3 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 3 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 13 | 3 | 9 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 6 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 11 |
| Total | 14 | 75 | 67 | 32 | 1 | 126 | 2 | 268 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
89.5%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 89.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 89.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
89.5%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 89.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 89.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
5.3%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 5.3% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 8.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
94.7%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 94.7% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 94.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Christchurch Adventist School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 435
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1925
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 17 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (17 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 17 July 2023 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
the school needed to check a primary identity document and a secondary identity document, required for safety checking of workforce. [Children’s Act 2014]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 285 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2019
249
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 October 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 17 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within ten months of the Education Review Office and Christchurch Adventist School working in Te Ara Huarau, an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Christchurch Adventist School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
maintain and enhance the special character
develop a pedagogical philosophy and framework
revise the curriculum so it is locally focused, connected with the curriculum refresh, and implemented in a timely way.
A copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan is available on request from Christchurch Adventist School.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of an aligned approach for designing and delivering learning on student connection and achievement across years 1 to 13.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to strengthen coherence and continuity in teaching and assessment practices across all year levels
a need to support teachers to better meet their students’ increasingly diverse learning needs
to align school reviews with national priorities and changes.
The school expects to see:
shared understanding and expectations about quality teaching knowledge, practices, and processes
an updated school-wide curriculum which is responsive to students’ needs
assessment data meaningfully used to identify trends for groups of learners and to track individual student progress and achievement throughout their time in the school.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the impact on student connection and achievement of an aligned approach for designing and delivering learning across years 1 to 13.
Strategic gathering and analysis of individuals’ achievement data to know each learner well, identify their needs, and plan to address them which can be leveraged to identify wider trends.
Targeted and responsive professional learning which is supporting teacher collaboration, growth in practices, and curriculum development.
Participation in the Christian Education Network Community of Learning Kāhui Ako , which has a shared goal to localise curriculum and teach accurate historical narratives, informs this goal.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
building knowledge and understanding of meaningful evaluation to identify strengths and areas for improvement
revising its curriculum so it is localised, incorporates mātauranga Māori and quality teaching practices, and is connected with the national curriculum refresh
using assessment tools more consistently across the school, from years 1 to 13, to track equity and excellence of individuals and cohorts.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
17 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).