Chanel College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 342
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 26 Herbert Street, Masterton
- Territorial authority
- Masterton District
- Phone
- 06-3700612
- admin@chanelcollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Chanel College has hosted International Students from all over the world for many years. With a small intake of international students each year, and being a signatory to the Code of Practice for International Students, our college is well placed to support each student both pastorally and educationally.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletic
- Canoe Polo
- Cricket
- Ki-O-Rahi
- Softball
- Swimming
- Tennis
- Volleyball
- Touch Rugby
- Badminton
- Basketball
- Cross Country
- Indoor Bowls
- Hockey
- Netball
- Football
- Athletics Day
- Swimming Sports
- Viard Athletics
- Sports Exchange (Bishop Viard, Cullinane & St Peters)
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 216
- Māori
- 68
- Pacific
- 31
- Asian
- 77
- MELAA
- 6
- Other
- 5
- International
- 4
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 12 | 4 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 42 |
| Year 08 | 10 | 7 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 33 | 1 | 48 |
| Year 09 | 14 | 4 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 40 | 1 | 56 |
| Year 10 | 14 | 4 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 60 |
| Year 11 | 9 | 4 | 15 | 1 | 1 | 21 | 1 | 43 |
| Year 12 | 12 | 4 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 34 | 0 | 46 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 19 |
| Total | 72 | 29 | 67 | 4 | 1 | 213 | 3 | 314 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 10 | 3 | 10 | 2 | 0 | 22 | 1 | 36 |
| Age 12 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 13 | 15 | 3 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 41 | 0 | 54 |
| Age 14 | 15 | 3 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 50 | 2 | 66 |
| Age 15 | 10 | 6 | 9 | 1 | 1 | 26 | 0 | 43 |
| Age 16 | 10 | 3 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 17 | 3 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 72 | 29 | 67 | 4 | 1 | 213 | 3 | 314 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
88.2%
| Chanel College | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 88.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
76.5%
| Chanel College | 76.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 76.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
64.7%
| Chanel College | 64.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 62.5% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 66.7% |
| Total | 64.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Chanel College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
82.4%
| Chanel College | 82.4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.5% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 75% |
| Total | 82.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
32.4%
| Chanel College | 32.4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 32.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 32.8% |
| Māori | 53.6% |
| Pacific | 53.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 36.4% |
| Total | 32.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
11.1%
| Chanel College | 11.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 14.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.5% |
| Māori | 25% |
| Pacific | 24% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.8% |
| Total | 11.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.1%
| Chanel College | 2.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.2% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3% |
| Total | 2.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 472
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1978
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 7
- Last reviewed
- 9 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (9 October 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 9 October 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 9 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 7 to 13
for students from year 7 to 13
- Years 7 to 13
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 342 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2019
204
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 3 February 2020
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 9 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Chanel College is a Catholic state integrated school in the Wairarapa for students from year 7 to 13 and is co-educational. The school roll has increased substantially over the previous five years and has 325 students currently attending, approximately 20% identify as Māori .
The College values are: Whanaungatanga, Manaakitanga and Kaitiakitanga .
The principal joined the school in 2022. A Ministry of Education Limited Statutory Manager (LSM) was appointed early in 2023 to help leaders and the Chanel College Board. The LSM finished working with the school in March 2025.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the September 2023 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings .
Expected Improvements
The school has evaluated how well it has progressed in developing internal evaluation processes to support school improvement.
The school expected to see teachers using achievement information to support effective teaching and learning and the identification and support of target groups who need to make accelerated progress. As well as learners' needs, including Year 7 students starting at the school, being well understood, ensuring access to learning and success throughout the curriculum.
Findings
Teachers have developed their knowledge and skills in relational practice, resulting in teachers knowing their learners well. Schoolwide assessment expectations are recently in place and teachers increasingly use assessment information to respond to learners’ strengths and needs.
Target learners are identified through assessment information; refined analysis and reporting will help leaders know the impact of teaching programmes on accelerated progress. Learners with additional learning needs are identified quickly and appropriate learning support is in place.
The transition process for year 7 learners has developed with the implementation of a community wide response. Better communication processes have improved transition for other year levels.
Other Findings
During the evaluation, it was found that a change in the culture of the school required urgent attention. School leaders and the Board have used internal and external review to identify where change is needed. Rigorous and routine use of internal evaluation for continuous improvement remains a next step.
The greatest shift that occurred is a change in school culture has taken place, learners now enjoy a more settled environment that supports their learning.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing .
Learners participate and learn in a caring and inclusive learning community.
Most learners achieve National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1 and Level 3 with the large majority achieving Level 2. Almost all achieve the co-requisite literacy and numeracy requirements, and achievement outcomes are equitable.
The majority of learners in year 7 and 8 are at expected levels for reading and writing but less than half achieve expectations in mathematics.
The school is yet to develop a clear understanding about student progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics in Years 9 and 10.
Students demonstrate the school's values, learning in an environment where these values are clearly taught and put into practice.
The small majority of students attend school regularly. Regular attendance is improving towards the Government target of 80% regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement .
School leaders relentlessly maintain an orderly and supportive environment that is conducive to student learning and wellbeing.
Leaders have led substantial change. Positive changes to the school culture have been established, providing a stable and productive environment for learning.
Leadership have established clear and consistent values and relational expectations that are well communicated, known and used to foster an inclusive learning environment.
Leaders are more strategic in their approach to change and increasingly distribute leadership responsibility across the teaching team.
Staff are developing a collective approach to teaching and learning, and curriculum programmes are increasingly responsive to learners.
Curriculum changes have been implemented to improve learner engagement; developing a collaboratively enacted approach with clear curriculum coherence is the next phase.
Consistent assessment expectations are in place in the junior school; teacher ability to use assessment data is developing, and improved schoolwide analysis will help leaders identify and respond to trends and patterns.
Systematic professional development promotes shared understanding and responsibility for learning among teaching staff; internal experts can share practices with guidance from external expertise.
Improvements to school systems, processes and relationships help sustain a safe and inclusive environment for learning.
Leaders use external review to shape considered next steps for teaching and learning; systematic internal evaluation is now required to determine ongoing impacts to learners and to make continual improvements.
Assessment for learning processes are developing but not yet consistently applied across the school; strengthening the use of assessment information will further enhance learning partnerships and encourage learner engagement.
Board members have built their capacity as effective stewards; they are visible and involved in the school, are scrutinising information that is shared with them, and work effectively with school leaders to achieve their strategic goals.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school.
Key priorities
Collect and analyse assessment data in literacy and mathematics for students in year 9 and 10.
Improve the use of achievement, progress and wellbeing information to bring about improvement.
Implement a coherent learning programme across the junior school to clearly support the foundation areas of literacy and mathematics.
Grow the collective responsibility of teachers for learning and quality teaching.
Clarify and strengthen middle leaders' roles in leading school curriculum and wellbeing initiative
Develop the internal evaluation capability of leaders to continually improve and know what is working and for whom.
Improve regular attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders ensure that assessment data for year 9 and 10 is collected, analysed and reported to the Board
leaders and teachers use improved and consistent assessment analysis for reading, writing and mathematics across the school
Within six months:
leaders develop and use internal evaluation processes to find out what is working well for learners and improvements required
the Board implements their attendance plan, including regular monitoring for improvement
Every six months:
collect, analyse and report attendance, achievement, progress, behaviour, wellbeing and engagement information to the Board and staff
Annually:
the Board and leaders collect, analyse attendance, achievement, progress, behaviour, wellbeing and engagement information, identify next steps for improvement and share with the school community.
Expected outcomes
Improved rates of student attendance, achievement, progress, behaviour, wellbeing and engagement.
Assessment information is regularly collected and used to inform teaching and learning across the school.
A coherent learning programme is implemented across the junior school, resulting in improved foundational literacy and mathematics skills.
Clear and coherent school processes are used systematically to support continual improvements.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
9 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 7 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).