Central Southland College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 669
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 174 MacKenzie Street, Winton
- Territorial authority
- Southland District
- Phone
- 03-2367646
- pa@csc.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.csc.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Southland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
We expect students to wear our uniform with pride, and meet our high standards around personal grooming. Students coming to school with incorrect uniform should bring a note from home.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Central Southland College accepts international students from Years 9 to 13
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Archery
all students have the opportunity to get involved in a huge number of different sports from Archery to Lawn Bowls, Rock Climbing to Surfing
- Lawn Bowls
all students have the opportunity to get involved in a huge number of different sports from Archery to Lawn Bowls, Rock Climbing to Surfing
- Rock Climbing
all students have the opportunity to get involved in a huge number of different sports from Archery to Lawn Bowls, Rock Climbing to Surfing
- Surfing
all students have the opportunity to get involved in a huge number of different sports from Archery to Lawn Bowls, Rock Climbing to Surfing
- Octathlon Day
- Octathlon Day
- Athletics Day
- Athletics Day
- Swimming sports
- Swimming sports
- Cross Country
- Cross Country
- Inter-house competitions
- Inter-house competitions
- Inter-school Sports Exchanges
- Inter-school Sports Exchanges
- Invest in Sport programme
- Invest in Sport programme
- Physical Activity Leadership Programme
- Physical Activity Leadership Programme
- Show Quest
- Show Quest
- Rock Quest
- Rock Quest
- Kapa Haka
- Kapa Haka
- Sheila Winn Shakespeare
- Sheila Winn Shakespeare
- Production / Talent on Tour
- Production / Talent on Tour
- Jazz Band
- Jazz Band
- Variety Show
- Variety Show
- Perform Your Arts Off Inter-house Competition
- Perform Your Arts Off Inter-house Competition
- Stage Challenge
our Stage Challenge and Major Musical Productions are annual highlights for many
- Major Musical Productions
our Stage Challenge and Major Musical Productions are annual highlights for many
- Archery
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 494
- Māori
- 131
- Pacific
- 13
- Asian
- 125
- MELAA
- 8
- Other
- 8
- International
- 3
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 33 | 4 | 31 | 4 | 3 | 115 | 0 | 154 |
| Year 10 | 22 | 2 | 24 | 2 | 0 | 104 | 1 | 137 |
| Year 11 | 27 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 114 | 9 | 147 |
| Year 12 | 21 | 2 | 18 | 0 | 0 | 94 | 0 | 122 |
| Year 13+ | 21 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 2 | 62 | 2 | 99 |
| Total | 124 | 9 | 110 | 6 | 5 | 489 | 12 | 659 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 24 | 2 | 19 | 2 | 1 | 77 | 0 | 101 |
| Age 14 | 26 | 4 | 27 | 2 | 2 | 119 | 1 | 154 |
| Age 15 | 28 | 0 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 109 | 2 | 140 |
| Age 16 | 20 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 0 | 94 | 7 | 125 |
| Age 17 | 18 | 3 | 20 | 0 | 1 | 69 | 2 | 101 |
| Age 18 | 8 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 1 | 21 | 0 | 35 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 124 | 9 | 110 | 6 | 5 | 489 | 12 | 659 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.8%
| Central Southland College | 90.8% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 84.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.9% |
| Māori | 80% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 90.2% |
| Total | 90.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
81.5%
| Central Southland College | 81.5% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 77.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 85.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77% |
| Māori | 73.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 90% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 80.4% |
| Total | 81.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
45.4%
| Central Southland College | 45.4% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 48% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 52.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 37.7% |
| Māori | 43.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 60% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 42.4% |
| Total | 45.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.3%
| Central Southland College | 12.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 17.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 20.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.3% |
| Māori | 6.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 5% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 15.2% |
| Total | 12.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.5%
| Central Southland College | 88.5% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 78.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.2% |
| Māori | 76.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88% |
| Total | 88.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
10.2%
| Central Southland College | 10.2% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 61.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.7% |
| Māori | 20.8% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 10.9% |
| Total | 10.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.7%
| Central Southland College | 1.7% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 6.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.7% |
| Māori | 8.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.2% |
| Total | 1.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Central Southland College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 462
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 30 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 June 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 18 June 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 30 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 13
co-educational Year 9 to 13 secondary school
- Years 9 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 30 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Central Southland College is a co-educational Year 9 to 13 secondary school located in Winton. The school’s current roll is 682. 60% of learners identify as Pākehā | New Zealand European, 20% as Māori and 17% as Asian. The school’s vision to develop students who are engaged, confident in learning, strong in relationships and connected in the community .
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the August 2022 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected Improvements
The school expected to an increase in student engagement and ownership of learning through curriculum redesign, strengthened student mentorship and the tracking of learning progress through the development of the pastoral support system.
Findings
A shift to a student-centred learning environment is resulting in increased student participation and enthusiasm for learning. Year 9 to 11 learning programmes offer greater choice and flexibility, leading to increased student engagement.
Greater whānau involvement and a strong pastoral support system are promoting shared responsibility and positive relationships among students, families, and teachers, leading to improved student engagement and progress.
Regular monitoring of student wellbeing and progress enables prompt support to help students achieve their best. Integrating pastoral and curriculum efforts is enhancing outcomes, with students being provided with more relevant and engaging learning.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of student success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Outcomes for students are increasingly equitable.
Most students achieve the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) standards in literacy and mathematics in either Year 10 or 11. There are equitable achievement outcomes for Māori students.
Achievement in reading and writing for Year 9 and 10 students is improving due to a focus on literacy across all learning areas.
A large majority of Year 11 to 13 students, including Māori, achieve NCEA at Levels 1, 2 and 3.
A small majority of students attend school regularly. Levels of regular attendance are behind the Government's target of 80%.
Conditions to support student success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leaders effectively work with students, whānau and teachers to drive school improvement.
Leaders work collaboratively to build staff capacity, which is making an increasingly positive impact on student wellbeing, progress and achievement.
Leaders consult effectively with the school community and consider the implications of research findings to inform curriculum redesign and pastoral developments.
Leaders mentor teachers in developing a range of strategies to make teaching and learning increasingly effective and engaging for their students.
Teaching and the curriculum are improving to better engage students and help them make progress.
Students are offered a broader range of curriculum programmes and are supported by teachers to take greater responsibility for their own learning pathways as they progress through the school.
Teachers across learning areas are using teaching and learning strategies that develop literacy skills and are helping improve student progress and achievement.
Teachers increasingly collaborate to improve effective teaching and learning practices to increase student engagement.
Student and teacher feedback about curriculum initiatives informs improvements to curriculum design.
Teachers and leaders are developing effective school conditions that benefit outcomes for students.
Whānau teachers oversee students’ progress and make connections with parents and whānau to create improved academic, engagement and wellbeing outcomes for students.
Student and teacher feedback increasingly guides improvements to learning design, teaching strategies and the structured pastoral programme, resulting in students seeing more value in their learning.
Pastoral developments and curriculum redesign are increasing students’ sense of inclusion, offering greater flexibility and relevant learning opportunities for students with complex needs.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies actions for improvement.
Key Priorities
Develop literacy and mathematics learning across curriculum areas to improve student achievement.
Increase flexibility in programme design across curriculum areas to improve levels of student choice to meet their learning interests and needs.
Improve and sustain regular attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and teachers develop and implement strategies to improve regular attendance ensuring that there are a range of supports in place to help students to improve attendance
Within six months:
leaders and teachers engage in professional learning to embed literacy and mathematics across curriculum areas
leaders and teachers review curriculum programmes to identify and develop opportunities to increase flexibility across curriculum areas
leaders and teachers review data to identify trends and patterns and use findings to improve regular attendance
Every six months:
leaders and teachers monitor teaching and learning to ensure effective literacy and mathematics approaches are being used
leaders and teachers use student, whānau and teacher feedback to improve programme design and increase student choice and engagement
Annually:
the School Board and leaders review the impact of pastoral, curriculum and teaching developments on engagement and achievement to inform annual and strategic planning
the Board evaluate patterns in attendance and use this information to identify next steps to increase regular rates of attendance.
Expected outcomes
Increased student choice, engagement and achievement.
Improvements in literacy and numeracy outcomes.
Improved and sustained levels of regular attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
30 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).