Central Hawkes Bay College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 573
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 45 Tavistock Road, Waipukurau
- Territorial authority
- Central Hawke's Bay District
- Phone
- 06-8589203
- office@chbc.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.chbc.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hawke’s Bay
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- 12 buses transport students to and from Central Hawke's Bay College: 50102 Porangahau, 50103 Ashley Clinton, 50104 Pukehou, 50105 Tikokino, 50107 Takapau North, 50109 Flemington/Farm Road, 50122 Omakere, 50123 Takapau South, 50124 Waipawa, 50125 Patangata, 50126 OngaOnga; buses leave the College after school at around 3.17pm, and the runs are provided by the Go Bus Company
There are 12 Buses that transport students to and from Central Hawke's Bay College these are the following: 50102 - Porangahau 50103 - Ashley Clinton 50104 - Pukehou 50105 - Tikokino 50107 - Takapau North 50109 - Flemington/Farm Road 50122 - Omakere 50123 - Takapau South 50124 - Waipawa 50125 - Patangata 50126 - OngaOnga What time do busses leave College after school? Buses Leave the College after school at around 3.17pm. Students must go straight to their bus after school. Where do students catch the bus from after school? The bus controller will notify students of the locations of each bus in the school bus bay at the end of each school day (these do change sometimes so it is always good to double check the number on the side or front of the bus before you get on) Where do students catch the bus from before school? There are several bus runs to the school with the Go Bus Company who provide the service. Go Bus oversees school routes. If you would like any information on bus routes, please contact Go Bus on 06 858 5194.
- 12 buses transport students to and from Central Hawke's Bay College: 50102 Porangahau, 50103 Ashley Clinton, 50104 Pukehou, 50105 Tikokino, 50107 Takapau North, 50109 Flemington/Farm Road, 50122 Omakere, 50123 Takapau South, 50124 Waipawa, 50125 Patangata, 50126 OngaOnga; buses leave the College after school at around 3.17pm, and the runs are provided by the Go Bus Company
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We have a long history of International students coming to our school who enjoy our friendly atmosphere and family experiences.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Sports Academy
Central Hawke's Bay College Sports Academy has been running since 2015. Students from Year 9 & 10 apply from all sporting backgrounds.
- Sports Academy
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 421
- Māori
- 223
- Pacific
- 41
- Asian
- 48
- MELAA
- 6
- Other
- 4
- International
- 5
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 51 | 8 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 103 | 0 | 132 |
| Year 10 | 39 | 9 | 9 | 0 | 1 | 89 | 0 | 116 |
| Year 11 | 66 | 10 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 103 | 0 | 138 |
| Year 12 | 33 | 3 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 63 | 3 | 89 |
| Year 13+ | 26 | 2 | 9 | 0 | 2 | 60 | 0 | 78 |
| Total | 215 | 32 | 51 | 1 | 3 | 418 | 3 | 553 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 36 | 4 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 78 | 0 | 96 |
| Age 14 | 44 | 11 | 11 | 0 | 1 | 89 | 0 | 123 |
| Age 15 | 62 | 10 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 109 | 0 | 139 |
| Age 16 | 42 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 73 | 3 | 103 |
| Age 17 | 28 | 2 | 9 | 0 | 2 | 55 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 215 | 32 | 51 | 1 | 3 | 418 | 3 | 553 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
79%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 79% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | 70.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 81.9% |
| Total | 79% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
68.5%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 68.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 78.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 60.3% |
| Māori | 58.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 77.8% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.3% |
| Total | 68.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
46%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 46% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 33.8% |
| Māori | 39.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 44.4% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 51.1% |
| Total | 46% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.1%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 16.1% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 30.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.4% |
| Māori | 17.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 19.1% |
| Total | 16.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
66.1%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 66.1% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 76.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.4% |
| Māori | 62.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 66% |
| Total | 66.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
40.9%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 40.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 28.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.8% |
| Māori | 67.6% |
| Pacific | 21.3% |
| Asian | 17.2% |
| Other | 176.7% |
| European/Pākehā | 33.8% |
| Total | 40.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.8%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 2.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.2% |
| Māori | 4.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.4% |
| Total | 2.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.1%
| Central Hawkes Bay College | 1.1% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.5% |
| Total | 1.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 489
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1959
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 15 December 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (15 December 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 15 December 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
keeping clear records of risk assessment before appointing staff [Children’s Act 2014].
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 15 December 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Central Hawkes Bay College is a co-educational secondary school located in rural Hawkes Bay and provides education for approximately 528 students. 38% of students identify as Māori . The school values are respect, integrity, community , and excellence .
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the February 2023 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected improvements
The school aimed to increase engagement and attendance and improve equity in learner outcomes through strengthened culturally responsive teaching practices and the development of a curriculum that values local histories and reflects the community.
Findings
Partnerships with local iwi have contributed to the development of learning programmes that are increasingly connected and relevant to local contexts.
A sustained focus on the wellbeing of students, supported by regular wellbeing data and actions, such as improved resources for outdoor spaces, is improving engagement in school events and regular attendance.
Other findings
The greatest shift that occurred in response to the school’s actions is an improvement in literacy and mathematics achievement in Years 9 and 10 due to close tracking of student achievement over time and the implementation of appropriate interventions and supports.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
The majority of students make progress and achieve well.
By the end of Year 10, a large majority of all students are at or above the expected curriculum level in reading and writing and a small majority in mathematics. Achievement outcomes in Year 9 and 10 are not yet equitable for all groups of learners.
A large majority of learners achieve NCEA Level 2 and 3; a small majority of learners achieve NCEA Level 1. The school has yet to achieve equitable outcomes for boys and Māori learners.
Regular student wellbeing surveys show that students experience positive wellbeing outcomes and see school as a secure and caring place.
A small majority of learners attend school regularly, which is below the Government’s 80% target for regular attendance. An attendance plan is required to increase attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Stable school leadership works collaboratively to improve outcomes for learners.
Leaders track and monitor progress towards improvement targets and actions aligned with the school’s strategic goals to raise learner achievement.
The leadership team works together to build staff and leadership capability to implement school improvement priorities. A sustained focus on literacy and numeracy is resulting in improved achievement.
Leadership builds education-focused relationships with other educational and community organisations to increase opportunities for student learning and success.
Students benefit from a broad curriculum and a range of pathway options.
Students experience a curriculum that provides a wide range of learning opportunities and focuses on strengthening foundational literacy and numeracy skills.
Teachers use strategies to connect learning to students’ interests, abilities and aspirations in calm classroom environments that support engagement.
Learners that need additional support are clearly identified and provided with support to help them learn and progress.
The Board, leaders and teachers are developing consistent school conditions to support improvement.
The Central Hawkes Bay College Board is representative of the school community and uses reliable evidence to inform strategic decisions.
Schoolwide pastoral systems and processes promote students’ wellbeing and positive, respectful relationships to improve student outcomes.
Professional learning for teachers is aligned with strategic priorities and focused on strengthening teacher capability and lifting student achievement.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Improve equity in achievement and engagement outcomes, with a focus on Māori students and boys
Embed schoolwide teaching programmes that value and build on students’ identities, languages and cultures.
Develop a shared schoolwide understanding of effective internal evaluation to support ongoing improvement.
Improve regular attendance to meet Government targets.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders develop an attendance plan and closely monitor to ensure regular attendance improves
Within six months:
leaders and teachers review progress and achievement data for Māori and boys and develop targeted strategies to lift achievement and success
teachers participate in professional learning programmes to continue to improve capability in te reo Māori and te ao Māori
leaders evaluate the effectiveness of the Year 11 diploma as foundation for NCEA and future pathways
leaders and teachers review and report on the impact of attendance strategies and adjust accordingly
Annually:
leaders and the school Board review student attendance, engagement and achievement information to evaluate the impact of the annual plan and initiatives and to inform future improvement priorities.
Expected outcomes
Improved outcomes with increased equity for all learners, particularly for Māori learners.
Students’ learning improves as result of effective teaching strategies that affirm students’ identities, language and culture reflected in the teaching and learning programmes.
Consistent schoolwide evaluation of the impact of teaching programmes and annual planning priorities based on evidence, including student and community feedback, to refine ongoing improvement approaches.
Improved levels of regular attendance meet or exceed the Government’s 80% target.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
15 December 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).