Cashmere High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 2,434
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 172 Rose Street, Somerfield, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-3329129
- office@cashmere.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- Governors Bay - D120405
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students have been a part of the Cashmere High School community from the earliest days of the school's establishment.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Reef and Rainforest trip
The Reef and Rainforest trip presents the opportunity to explore the only place in the world where two World Heritage Sites meet
- Space Camp trip
The Space Camp trip is an amazing opportunity for students to train as an astronaut and experience life in the USA.
- three week French exchange
Students studying French in Years 11-13 have the opportunity to take part in the three week French exchange.
- South America Trip
The South America Trip is a wonderful opportunity for Language students to completely immerse themselves in the culture and language of three different Spanish speaking countries.
- Japan Trip
The Japan Trip is a three week visit to Japan for students studying Japanese in Years 11-13.
- Technology Faculty Trip to New York
- Reef and Rainforest trip
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,992
- Māori
- 241
- Pacific
- 58
- Asian
- 411
- MELAA
- 96
- Other
- 44
- International
- 108
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 52 | 11 | 58 | 19 | 10 | 413 | 8 | 476 |
| Year 10 | 47 | 13 | 55 | 19 | 5 | 414 | 10 | 479 |
| Year 11 | 57 | 16 | 50 | 17 | 1 | 444 | 21 | 519 |
| Year 12 | 43 | 9 | 56 | 19 | 1 | 396 | 45 | 498 |
| Year 13+ | 43 | 9 | 46 | 15 | 2 | 341 | 21 | 406 |
| Total | 242 | 58 | 265 | 89 | 19 | 2008 | 105 | 2378 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 46 | 7 | 42 | 16 | 10 | 333 | 6 | 379 |
| Age 14 | 45 | 13 | 59 | 18 | 4 | 412 | 10 | 477 |
| Age 15 | 50 | 17 | 53 | 18 | 1 | 443 | 15 | 513 |
| Age 16 | 47 | 10 | 49 | 18 | 2 | 393 | 27 | 473 |
| Age 17 | 45 | 7 | 46 | 12 | 2 | 354 | 30 | 422 |
| Age 18 | 7 | 2 | 16 | 7 | 0 | 69 | 15 | 105 |
| Age 19+ | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 8 |
| Total | 242 | 58 | 265 | 89 | 19 | 2008 | 105 | 2378 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
94.5%
| Cashmere High School | 94.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.7% |
| Māori | 87.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 96.1% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 94.6% |
| Total | 94.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
87.7%
| Cashmere High School | 87.7% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.1% |
| Māori | 79.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 92.2% |
| MELAA | 88.2% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 87.4% |
| Total | 87.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
72.9%
| Cashmere High School | 72.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.7% |
| Māori | 62.1% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 74.5% |
| MELAA | 70.6% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 73.9% |
| Total | 72.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
18.2%
| Cashmere High School | 18.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.3% |
| Māori | 32.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 15.7% |
| MELAA | 23.5% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 18.5% |
| Total | 18.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.4%
| Cashmere High School | 88.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 90.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.5% |
| Māori | 81% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 92.2% |
| MELAA | 94.1% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.2% |
| Total | 88.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Māori | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
22%
| Cashmere High School | 22% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 12.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 31.1% |
| Māori | 40.3% |
| Pacific | 21.4% |
| Asian | 8.2% |
| Other | 21.7% |
| European/Pākehā | 22.4% |
| Total | 22% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.4%
| Cashmere High School | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.4% |
| Māori | 2.1% |
| Pacific | 8.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 1.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Cashmere High School | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 10.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.7% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 413
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1956
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 7
- Last reviewed
- 6 May 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 May 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 6 May 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 2434 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2019
2032
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 June 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 May 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Cashmere High School is a large state co-educational secondary school in Christchurch and caters for students in Years 9 to 13. A new principal has recently been appointed. The school values are citizenship, opportunity, vibrancy, and excellence.
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the July 2023 ERO report the school evaluated the extent to which culturally responsive teaching practice, and the monitoring and tracking of student achievement contribute to equity and excellence for all students.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
Improved academic outcomes for Māori students:
The majority of Māori students achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1, almost all achieved Level 2, and a large majority achieved Level 3. Significant disparity remains for Level 1 and University Entrance.
Improved academic outcomes for students identified as priority learners:
The progress of priority learners is tracked and monitored throughout schooling; a large majority of identified priority learners achieved NCEA.
Sustained level of excellence and merit endorsements at NCEA Level 1 to3.
Overall endorsements at NCEA Levels 1 to 3 have been sustained.
There has been a decrease in learners achieving excellence endorsements at Levels 1 to 3.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
A large majority of students are engaged in learning, make positive progress, and achieve at the appropriate curriculum levels and NCEA.
Positive, upward trajectories in progress and achievement outcomes for students in Year 9 and 10 are evident; almost all students achieve the literacy and numeracy requirements for NCEA.
Most learners leave school with at least NCEA Level 2; girls achieve NCEA at a higher rate than boys in Levels 1 to 3; a small majority of students achieve University Entrance.
Students with additional learning needs are effectively supported by an experienced learning support team
The majority of students attend school regularly; the school is not yet achieving the Government’s target for regular attendance; chronic absence is not yet reducing over time.
Conditions to support learner success
School leadership collaboratively develops and pursues the school’s vision, goals and targets for high and improved student outcomes.
A range of evaluative evidence is used by faculties to evaluate the effectiveness of teaching practices and is linked to the identification of students’ next learning steps and teacher professional development to improve teaching and learning.
Staff and students state a strong sense of belonging to the school community and enjoy engagement with the diverse range of curricular and cocurricular opportunities at the school.
Effective faculty and department leaderships supports teachers to use innovative strategies which engage students well in relevant learning contexts.
The school offers a rich and broad curriculum delivered by highly effective teaching practice.
The curriculum is responsive, purposeful and focused on equipping students with the knowledge, skills and dispositions to contribute positively to their community.
An explicit, evidence-based teaching framework and programme of regular classroom observations supports effective teaching practice.
The bicultural capability of staff and students is successfully supported by school-developed frameworks and professional learning.
The school has well-aligned systems, practices and regular review processes to support success and improvement over time.
Leaders and teachers undertake meaningful community consultation, useful data analysis and gather student feedback and ideas; this informs ongoing improvements to meet the needs of learners.
The board is strongly supportive of the principal, staff and students; strategic goals are improvement focused, and resourcing is carefully considered for resulting initiatives
A review of counselling services has led to increased resourcing
Internal evaluation practices support the gathering, analysis and use of evidence of student learning and outcomes to improve individual and collective teaching practices.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
improve the percentage of students who attend school regularly and reduce the percentage of chronic absences.
increase the percentage of students who attain University Entrance and investigate transition pathways to strengthen opportunities for future study
further strengthen equity of achievement for Māori and Pacific students in NCEA
implement changes to guidance services to improve student access and operations.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows:
Within six months:
consult the community to develop and refine processes to support more students to attend school regularly
strengthen academic mentoring to support students to plan and achieve University Entrance
enhance faculty reporting on achievement to track, monitor and better support the progress of Māori and Pacific students
Annually:
track, monitor and evaluate the effectiveness and impact of strategies to improve attendance
evaluate and report on the impact of the refined school systems for increased student achievement
track, monitor and evaluate the effectiveness and impact of strategies to improve Māori and Pacific student achievement
evaluate the impact of changes to guidance services.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
higher attendance levels that meet government targets and a reduction in chronic absence
an increase in the percentage of students who attain University Entrance
equitable and excellent outcomes for all Māori and Pacific learners
strengthened access to and operation of the school guidance services.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools (Acting)
6 May 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 7 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).