Campion College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 478
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Campion Road, Gisborne
- Territorial authority
- Gisborne District
- Phone
- 06-8679309
- office@campioncollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Gisborne
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 299
- Māori
- 134
- Pacific
- 26
- Asian
- 100
- MELAA
- 18
- Other
- 9
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 19 | 4 | 13 | 3 | 0 | 53 | 0 | 76 |
| Year 08 | 21 | 2 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 74 |
| Year 09 | 23 | 5 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 41 | 0 | 69 |
| Year 10 | 15 | 6 | 13 | 2 | 2 | 53 | 0 | 77 |
| Year 11 | 30 | 1 | 7 | 2 | 1 | 56 | 0 | 77 |
| Year 12 | 17 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 44 |
| Year 13+ | 18 | 1 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 36 | 0 | 53 |
| Total | 143 | 21 | 75 | 12 | 3 | 318 | 0 | 470 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 14 | 4 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 38 | 0 | 59 |
| Age 12 | 21 | 2 | 13 | 1 | 0 | 50 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 13 | 25 | 4 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 14 | 17 | 5 | 16 | 0 | 2 | 43 | 0 | 70 |
| Age 15 | 29 | 3 | 8 | 3 | 1 | 63 | 0 | 87 |
| Age 16 | 17 | 2 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 46 |
| Age 17 | 19 | 1 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 48 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 143 | 21 | 75 | 12 | 3 | 318 | 0 | 470 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
92.1%
| Campion College | 92.1% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 79.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 96.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.2% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 93% |
| Total | 92.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
85.7%
| Campion College | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 68.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.3% |
| Māori | 79.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90.7% |
| Total | 85.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
61.9%
| Campion College | 61.9% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 42.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 58.8% |
| Māori | 54.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 62.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 67.4% |
| Total | 61.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
19%
| Campion College | 19% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 17.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 27.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.8% |
| Māori | 25% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 12.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 20.9% |
| Total | 19% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
85.7%
| Campion College | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 70.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.3% |
| Māori | 79.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86% |
| Total | 85.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
35.7%
| Campion College | 35.7% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 31.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 22.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 48.7% |
| Māori | 57.5% |
| Pacific | 29% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 32.2% |
| European/Pākehā | 36.8% |
| Total | 35.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Campion College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 3.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Campion College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 0.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 437
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1960
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 16 June 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (16 June 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 16 June 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 478 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2017
519
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 July 2017
September 2012
488
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 26 November 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 16 June 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 24 months of the Education Review Office and Campion College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Campion College is a state-integrated, Catholic, co-educational college in Gisborne and provides education for students in years 7 to 13. The core Gospel values of commitment, compassion and community are formed in the traditions of the founding religious orders, the Marist Brothers and the Sister’s of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart.
Campion College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
to embed collective efficacy so that all staff work together to achieve equitable and excellent outcomes for all students
to embed learner agency for all students so that their abilities, talents, and interests are what drives their personalised curriculum
to strengthen the development of the whole person so that all students have ongoing opportunities to encounter Christ.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Campion College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively learner agency promotes improved outcomes for all students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the identified need to continue to accelerate progress towards achieving equitable and excellent outcomes for all students
to continue to strengthen responsive pedagogical approaches that support personalised learning within an innovative learning environment
to continue to build teacher efficacy through collective capacity to do and use evaluation, inquiry and knowledge building to continue to improve learner outcomes.
The school expects to see:
teachers and students consistently using the Structure of Learning Outcomes (SOLO) assessment taxonomy to map progress in learning and next steps
students having increasing control over their learning so that their unique abilities, talents, and interests drives curriculum design
a curriculum that reflects culturally responsive localised programmes
teachers working collaboratively together to strengthen collective expertise and capability that improves learner outcomes.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the goal to evaluate how effectively learner agency promotes improved outcomes for all students:
leadership prioritises and plans for school improvement for equitable and excellent outcomes for all students
learner outcomes are enhanced through systematic and sustained school processes and practices
respectful relationships reflect a sense of community and belonging within the special character of the school
professional learning is well aligned to strategic plans and goals with a current focus on collaborative teaching, digital citizenship and metacognition using SOLO taxonomy.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
strengthening learner agency through metacognition using the SOLO taxonomy as assessment for learning
students using an inquiry lens to connect new learning to their own prior knowledge and cultural identity and language
strengthening cultural connectedness so all students have a sense of identity and belonging through the Tūranganui-a-Kiwa and Catholic curriculum
strengthening techniques to support the diverse learning needs of all students using the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) process.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
16 June 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).