Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 76
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 2 McVilly Rd, Manurewa, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Manurewa Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2667109
- info@blennz.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.blennz.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 32
- Māori
- 21
- Pacific
- 29
- Asian
- 16
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 07 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 09 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 10 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Year 13+ | 6 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 19 |
| Total | 17 | 25 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 70 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 06 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 14 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 16 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 19+ | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 |
| Total | 17 | 25 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 70 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
62.5%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
62.5%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
25%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 25% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 25% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.5%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 12.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 12.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 480
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 28 February 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 27 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (27 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 27 July 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 76 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2016
37
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 January 2017
September 2012
40
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 November 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 27 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
The Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ (BLENNZ) is a national school based in Manurewa , Auckland. It provides a network of education services to blind, deafblind, and low vision ākonga throughout New Zealand from birth to 21 years, including those who have additional learning needs.
As a national school with a wide community, it includes ākonga and their whānau ; Resource Teachers Vision (RTV) and blindness educators; partner service providers, such as Blind Low Vision NZ (aka Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind); and blindness education sector groupings.
Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
all BLENNZ staff will demonstrate increased knowledge skills and understanding with regards to bicultural practice
to review and revise the BLENNZ curriculum (Expanded Core Curriculum) ensuring it reflects the intent of the national curriculum refresh, a bicultural inclusive curriculum
to work in collaboration with whānau and the teaching team to further the scope and integration of the BLENNZ curriculum for Orientation and Mobility (O&M) and daily life skills. This will inform and further develop the services for Developmental Orientation and Mobility (DOM) and Life Skills resulting in a holistic approach which leads enhanced outcomes for ākonga .
You can find a copy of the network’s strategic and annual plan on Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ’s website.
ERO and BLENNZ are working together to evaluate how well the revised BLENNZ Expanded Core Curriculum empowers ākonga who are blind, deafblind and low vision to effectively access and participate in Te Whāriki (the Early Childhood Curriculum) and Te Mātaiaho (Refreshing The New Zealand Curriculum ) enabling each learner to reach their full potential.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to support senior leadership review the BLENNZ Expanded Core Curriculum to ensure it:
is responsive to the intent of Te Mātaiaho
continues to enhance positive learning and wellbeing outcomes for ākonga .
The network expects to see:
enhanced ākonga access and engagement in learning through Te Mātaiaho
ākonga outcomes enriched through a consistently equitable and strengths-based approach to teaching and learning
teacher capability in service delivery of the refreshed Expanded Core Curriculum strengthened through appropriate professional development.
Strengths
The network can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how well the revised BLENNZ Expanded Core Curriculum empowers ākonga who are blind, deafblind and low vision, to access and participate in Te Mātaiaho (Refreshing The New Zealand Curriculum ) enabling each learner to reach their full potential:
ākonga experience holistic learning approaches that promote a strong sense of belonging, are culturally responsive and promote self-advocacy
leadership that continually adapts implementation and strategy to deliver on the school’s priorities
leadership that collaboratively sustains a culture of relational trust, to ensure ongoing organisational capacity building for continuous improvement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
a review of the BLENNZ Expanded Core Curriculum to align with the intention of Te Mātaiaho
professional development to continue to strengthen teacher capability across the network activating and integrating the calls to action within Te Mātaiaho and the BLENNZ Expanded Core Curriculum
review and refinement of the BLENNZ Framework of Indicators, to measure and report on individual and aggregated ākonga outcomes in response to the refreshed curricula.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
27 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).