Birkenhead College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 475
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 140 Birkdale Road, Birkenhead, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Kaipātiki Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-4839039
- office@birkenhead.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
All students must wear one of two styles of regulation* pale blue shirts. Both shirt styles come in long and short sleeve versions.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Foster basic values such as mutual respect, honesty, integrity and tolerance, as well as an appreciation of the need for courtesy, punctuality, perseverance and a concern for the well-being of others.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Birkenhead College provides homestay accommodation for International Students.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Birkenhead College Sports Academy
The Birkenhead College Sports Academy is an exciting new opportunity for Year 9 and 10 students to take their game to the next level.
- rugby
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- basketball
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- volleyball
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- football
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- water polo
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- netball
The program offers specialised training in rugby, basketball, volleyball, football, water polo and netball.
- Birkenhead College Sports Academy
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 246
- Māori
- 104
- Pacific
- 115
- Asian
- 108
- MELAA
- 22
- Other
- 6
- International
- 18
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 32 | 27 | 24 | 3 | 1 | 56 | 0 | 102 |
| Year 10 | 28 | 28 | 18 | 7 | 1 | 67 | 2 | 115 |
| Year 11 | 23 | 28 | 21 | 5 | 1 | 56 | 6 | 105 |
| Year 12 | 20 | 22 | 21 | 4 | 0 | 67 | 2 | 108 |
| Year 13+ | 17 | 16 | 26 | 10 | 2 | 38 | 7 | 91 |
| Total | 120 | 121 | 110 | 29 | 5 | 284 | 17 | 521 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 26 | 25 | 18 | 3 | 1 | 47 | 0 | 85 |
| Age 14 | 29 | 28 | 20 | 5 | 0 | 65 | 1 | 111 |
| Age 15 | 25 | 26 | 16 | 6 | 2 | 60 | 3 | 101 |
| Age 16 | 22 | 23 | 21 | 5 | 0 | 60 | 5 | 108 |
| Age 17 | 15 | 17 | 22 | 5 | 2 | 41 | 5 | 83 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 2 | 9 | 5 | 0 | 10 | 2 | 27 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Total | 120 | 121 | 110 | 29 | 5 | 284 | 17 | 521 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.9%
| Birkenhead College | 86.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.2% |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | 88.9% |
| Asian | 84.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 86.8% |
| Total | 86.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
82.2%
| Birkenhead College | 82.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82% |
| Māori | 70.8% |
| Pacific | 83.3% |
| Asian | 72.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 86.8% |
| Total | 82.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
68.2%
| Birkenhead College | 68.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.5% |
| Māori | 58.3% |
| Pacific | 72.2% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 67.9% |
| Total | 68.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
22.4%
| Birkenhead College | 22.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 32.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 14.8% |
| Māori | 20.8% |
| Pacific | 27.8% |
| Asian | 24.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 20.8% |
| Total | 22.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
84.1%
| Birkenhead College | 84.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.9% |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | 88.9% |
| Asian | 87.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 79.2% |
| Total | 84.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
36.8%
| Birkenhead College | 36.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 47.9% |
| Māori | 66.4% |
| Pacific | 46.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 20.9% |
| European/Pākehā | 46.8% |
| Total | 36.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.3%
| Birkenhead College | 7.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 2.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.3% |
| Māori | 20.9% |
| Pacific | 12.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.5% |
| Total | 7.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.6%
| Birkenhead College | 2.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5% |
| Māori | 4.9% |
| Pacific | 5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.1% |
| Total | 2.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 464
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1972
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 31 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (31 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 31 July 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 475 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2018
674
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 21 June 2018
August 2012
730
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 November 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 31 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 9 months of the Education Review Office and Birkenhead College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Birkenhead College is a co-educational school catering for students from Year 9 to 13. The school’s mission is ‘to provide education of the highest quality for all students. The school values inclusiveness and is reflected in its motto ‘Where everybody is somebody’.
Birkenhead College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
a school environment that enhances the high-quality relationships between students and staff, and between students through the school values of respect, whānau , and pride
strong, responsive, and well-established leadership and staff that focuses on school improvement and equitable and excellent outcomes for all students
to further develop the acceleration of literacy with students to facilitate future success across all areas of the curriculum.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Birkenhead College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively the development of literacy initiatives can enhance the delivery of the curriculum and create equitable outcomes for all .
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
literacy is required in all areas of the curriculum and is a skill that is needed to establish lifelong learners
Covid 19 has created a need for a greater focus on literacy to enable successful access of the curriculum by all students.
The school expects to see changes in their approach to teaching and learning to improve literacy, especially for those students who are at risk of not achieving.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to improve literacy and achievement:
highly motivated teachers who are constantly evaluating and implementing ways to improve student outcomes
consistent monitoring of students’ progress to initiate interventions and extra support if it is needed
the school’s values and culture underpin all aspects of school life enabling the students to become successful global citizens.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
resourcing, monitoring and evaluating literacy initiatives
supporting teachers with resources and professional learning
further enhancing a culture which promotes success and equity for all students.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
31 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).