Awatapu College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 870
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 434 Botanical Road, West End, Palmerston North
- Territorial authority
- Palmerston North City
- Phone
- 06-3564817
- pa@awatapu.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.awatapu.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Palmerston North · schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Shirt Year 9 -11 2026 - Regulation grey with College monogram.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
All International Students at Awatapu College live with a homestay family approved by the school, or with their parent/s or designated caregiver.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Archery
| Archery |
- Cricket
| Cricket |
- Golf
| Golf |
- Artistic Roller Skating
| Artistic Roller Skating |
- Cross Country
| Cross Country |
- Hockey
| Hockey |
- Rugby 7s
| Rugby 7s |
- Swimming
| Swimming |
- Athletics
| Athletics |
- Croquet
| Croquet |
- Mountain Biking
| Mountain Biking |
- Rugby League
| Rugby League |
- Table Tennis
| Table Tennis |
- Bocce
| Bocce |
- Cycling
| Cycling |
- Multisport
| Multisport |
- Skiing/Snowboarding
| Skiing/Snowboarding |
- Tennis
| Tennis |
- Badminton
| Badminton |
- Equestrian
| Equestrian |
- Netball
| Netball |
- Small-Bore Rifle Shooting
| Small-Bore Rifle Shooting |
- Touch
| Touch |
- Basketball
| Basketball |
- Football
| Football |
- Orienteering
| Orienteering |
- Softball
| Softball |
- Triathlon
| Triathlon |
- Bowls
| Bowls |
- Futsal
| Futsal |
- Rugby
| Rugby | Squash |
- Squash
| Squash |
- Volleyball
| Volleyball |
- Tuition is available in orchestral instruments, piano, guitar, drums and vocals.
- a major production
Each year a major production is staged in which a large number of students participate in acting, singing, dancing and a show band.
- Soirees
Students also have the opportunity to be involved in Soirees, Theatresports, Shakespeare Competitions and Dance NZ Made.
- Theatresports
Students also have the opportunity to be involved in Soirees, Theatresports, Shakespeare Competitions and Dance NZ Made.
- Shakespeare Competitions
Students also have the opportunity to be involved in Soirees, Theatresports, Shakespeare Competitions and Dance NZ Made.
- Dance NZ Made
Students also have the opportunity to be involved in Soirees, Theatresports, Shakespeare Competitions and Dance NZ Made.
- Archery
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 602
- Māori
- 285
- Pacific
- 71
- Asian
- 115
- MELAA
- 18
- Other
- 14
- International
- 14
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 66 | 26 | 25 | 4 | 3 | 119 | 0 | 184 |
| Year 10 | 66 | 16 | 24 | 7 | 0 | 119 | 0 | 192 |
| Year 11 | 56 | 11 | 14 | 2 | 2 | 129 | 3 | 176 |
| Year 12 | 47 | 13 | 17 | 2 | 2 | 112 | 14 | 167 |
| Year 13+ | 45 | 10 | 22 | 3 | 0 | 92 | 3 | 142 |
| Total | 280 | 76 | 102 | 18 | 7 | 571 | 20 | 861 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 59 | 23 | 21 | 4 | 3 | 107 | 0 | 163 |
| Age 14 | 65 | 17 | 14 | 6 | 0 | 111 | 0 | 174 |
| Age 15 | 63 | 11 | 22 | 2 | 2 | 140 | 3 | 196 |
| Age 16 | 36 | 15 | 18 | 2 | 1 | 98 | 9 | 147 |
| Age 17 | 50 | 8 | 11 | 3 | 1 | 96 | 7 | 138 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 1 | 15 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 35 |
| Age 19+ | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Total | 280 | 76 | 102 | 18 | 7 | 571 | 20 | 861 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86%
| Awatapu College | 86% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.7% |
| Māori | 82.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 90.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90.4% |
| Total | 86% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
76.4%
| Awatapu College | 76.4% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 72.8% |
| Māori | 71.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 81.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.7% |
| Total | 76.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
49%
| Awatapu College | 49% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 56.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 43.5% |
| Māori | 35.1% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 59.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 55.8% |
| Total | 49% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
10.2%
| Awatapu College | 10.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 13.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.6% |
| Māori | 14% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 12.5% |
| Total | 10.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
79.6%
| Awatapu College | 79.6% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 76.1% |
| Māori | 73.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 86.4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 84.6% |
| Total | 79.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
41.9%
| Awatapu College | 41.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 40.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 43.5% |
| Māori | 69.2% |
| Pacific | 44.5% |
| Asian | 7% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 34.5% |
| Total | 41.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
14.3%
| Awatapu College | 14.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 8.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 19.5% |
| Māori | 26% |
| Pacific | 36.6% |
| Asian | 11.4% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.7% |
| Total | 14.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.2%
| Awatapu College | 9.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 10.6% |
| Māori | 19.9% |
| Pacific | 24.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.1% |
| Total | 9.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 492
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 30 November 1976
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 22 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (22 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 22 March 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process.
Compliance with MOE guidelines for developing a Firearms Policy
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 870 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2018
728
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 November 2018
August 2015
666
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 October 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 22 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within fifteen months of the Education Review Office and Awatapu College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Awatapu College is a co-educational secondary school for students from Years 9 to 15. The college is located in the Riverdale area of Palmerston North. The college ‘challenges students to achieve personal excellence, develop a sense of self-worth, and become motivated and responsible global citizens’. It includes a significant resource for learners with additional needs, the Awatapu Special Needs Department.
Awatapu College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
Have high aspirations for every learner/ ākonga , and support these by partnering with their whānau and communities to design and deliver education that responds to their needs, and sustains their identities, languages and cultures.
Ensure every learner /ākonga gains sound foundation skills, including language, literacy and numeracy.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Awatapu College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how curriculum innovation and Universal Design for Learning ( UDL) can enhance outcomes for learners across a range of measures.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
provide equitable learning opportunities for all learners
provide ongoing professional development to improve teacher practice and pedagogy
increase engagement and attendance.
The school expects to see:
improved attendance, engagement, achievement and retention of students through a curriculum that is relevant and accessible, and in which learners can see themselves reflected in what they are learning
ākonga deeply engaged in the process of learning, experiencing success through equitable access to learning opportunities and tools, and supports to demonstrate their learning in ways that work for them
improved equity and excellence of learner outcomes
knowledgeable and responsive teachers who value and understand learner variability.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to develop school wide coherence in teaching practices that are inclusive of all learners and result in success across and within a range of achievement indicators.
A robust professional growth process in Manaaki Ki Te Tangata that supports building capacity and capability for teachers in culturally responsive and relational pedagogy.
A programme of teacher professional development to promote culturally responsive practices working in a UDL approach to support the school to implement Te Mātaiaho | the refreshed NZ curriculum.
Teachers are involved in a meaningful process of appraisal and review process, which involves ongoing reflection grounded in an effective teacher profile.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
working with leaders of learning to identify opportunities for the curriculum to draw on and make connections with the local area
strengthening school systems and processes for a quality assurance and review framework to structure ongoing evaluation of the impact of curriculum changes on learner achievement
consolidating and embedding classroom practice that implements Universal Design for Learning (UDL).
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
22 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).