Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 333
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 119 Mountain Road, Mangere Bridge, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2759640
- joanne@asdah.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.asdah.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 18
- Māori
- 27
- Pacific
- 301
- Asian
- 24
- MELAA
- 3
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 7 | 69 | 9 | 0 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 77 |
| Year 10 | 4 | 57 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 63 |
| Year 11 | 4 | 63 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 12 | 8 | 61 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 13+ | 2 | 38 | 9 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 51 |
| Total | 25 | 288 | 31 | 3 | 4 | 22 | 0 | 327 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 5 | 52 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 57 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 65 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 15 | 4 | 64 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 16 | 8 | 59 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 39 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 47 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 25 | 288 | 31 | 3 | 4 | 22 | 0 | 327 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
98.3%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.2% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 97.8% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 98.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
87.9%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 87.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 84.8% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 87.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
72.4%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 72.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.4% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 65.2% |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 72.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
10.3%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 10.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 13.9% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 10.9% |
| Asian | 11.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 10.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
91.4%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 91.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.1% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 89.1% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 91.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| MELAA | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Māori | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
93.1%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 93.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.4% |
| Māori | 22.2% |
| Pacific | 98.4% |
| Asian | 53.5% |
| Other | 88.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 66.5% |
| Total | 93.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist H S | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 489
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1970
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 13 June 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (13 June 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 13 June 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 333 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2017
215
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 November 2017
July 2014
206
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 October 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 13 June 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist High School (ASDAH) is a state integrated coeducational Years 9 to 13 college. Founded under Adventist Schools New Zealand the school provides a Bible-based curriculum in accordance with its special character status. Most students and their families are of Pacific heritage.
Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist High School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
promote high learning and achievement outcomes for all learners at the school
integrate the school’s Special Seventh-Day Adventist character into all aspects of the school.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Auckland Seventh-Day Adventist High School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the effectiveness of the school’s responsive curriculum and effective teaching for achieving equity and excellence for all learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to enable students at the senior level to achieve outcomes and success at school and beyond
an intentional focus on literacy and numeracy in Years 9 and 10
to ensure that learner outcomes, achievement and progress are sustained after disruptions from the Covid-19 pandemic of the pasts 3 years.
The school expects to see:
all learners effectively supported to achieve equitable outcomes through a responsive curriculum
improved levels of literacy and numeracy for learners in Years 9 and 10.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the effectiveness of the school’s responsive curriculum and effective teaching for achieving equity and excellence for all learners:
use of data for identifying priority students and developing effective strategies to meet their needs
professional learning culture through established internal and external profession learning and development sessions
innovative and culturally responsive pedagogy is used by teachers which is inclusive of all learners
strong integration of special character and pastoral programme which support learning in the school
high achievement of Māori and Pacific learners in National Certificate of Educational Achievement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
strengthening literacy and numeracy strategies across Years 9 and 10 to address the disruption to learning caused by the Covid-19 pandemic
promoting learning opportunities and extension for gifted and talented students
strengthening intentional connections with parents and whānau .
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
13 June 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).