Arahunga School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 120
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 53 Konini Street, Tawhero, Whanganui
- Territorial authority
- Whanganui District
- Phone
- 0800-532 4973
- principal@welearn.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.arahunga.co.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 65
- Māori
- 52
- Pacific
- 5
- Asian
- 11
- MELAA
- 2
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 04 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 08 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 10 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 13+ | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 19 |
| Total | 43 | 2 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 59 | 0 | 99 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 06 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 07 | 4 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 09 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 14 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 15 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 19+ | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 13 |
| Total | 43 | 2 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 59 | 0 | 99 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Arahunga School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Māori | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Arahunga School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 527
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1971
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 13 May 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (13 May 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 13 May 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 120 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
April 2019
59
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 June 2019
April 2016
56
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 21 June 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 13 May 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Arahunga School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Arahunga School is a day specialist school dedicated to meeting the unique learning needs of students aged between 5 to 21 years. All students have Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS) funding. Students learn across a range of settings, including campus classes and a transition class for senior students at the base school and seven hubs located in host schools. Specialist therapy services are provided to students to support their wellbeing and access to learning through a transdisciplinary approach.
An extensive and wide-reaching specialist teacher outreach service network is provided for the Horowhenua, Manawatū, Whanganui areas that includes the wider Taranaki region. This service supports ORS funded students enrolled in their local school. Additional support services are provided through a wide range of innovative contracts to work with and build capabilities in local communities.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
The school’s whakatauki, ‘Popoia te kakano kia puawai - nurture the seed and it will blossom,’ reflects how the school focuses on the progressive and holistic learning and wellbeing success of all learners.
Arahunga School ’s current strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are focused on:
students’ learning – managing self, leading self, and self determination
student engagement, participation, learning and inclusion
successful transition supporting individual aspirations
community engagement – culturally responsive practice.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Arahunga School‘ s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively assessment practices across the school, are informing teaching, learning and wellbeing to respond to the needs of our unique learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
strengthening assessment practices across the school for consistency and shared understanding to better inform teaching strategies is a key priority as roll growth is managed.
The school expects to see:
assessment practices that consistently build on prior learning and show progression in relation to individual learner goals
student learning and wellbeing being enhanced
learners being empowered to be active, confident and connected in their community.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate how effectively assessment practices across the school, are informing teaching, learning and wellbeing to respond to the needs of our unique learners.
Transdisciplinary knowledge of the learners that is consistently evident in planning for learning.
Leadership establishes a clear strategic direction and culture that supports school improvement.
Leadership creates positive conditions for innovation solutions to sustain improved outcomes for learners.
Systems and processes effectively identify and responds to the holistic needs of learners and whānau .
Learners becoming competent communicators is well established as a high priority outcome.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
building capability and shared understanding of the range of assessment tools for teacher that better inform teaching and learning
using assessment information effectively to identify student’s target goals
partnering with whānau to understand the purpose of how assessment informs the students’ pathway
embedding the use of the school’s digital platform to record, track and monitor individual learning and wellbeing outcomes.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
13 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).