Aorere College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,701
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Portage Road, Papatoetoe, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Ōtara-Papatoetoe Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2785608
- office@aorere.ac.nz
- Website
- http://www.aorere.ac.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 186
- Māori
- 317
- Pacific
- 974
- Asian
- 639
- MELAA
- 18
- Other
- 24
- International
- 1
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 59 | 195 | 129 | 5 | 5 | 45 | 0 | 351 |
| Year 10 | 85 | 213 | 143 | 2 | 10 | 65 | 1 | 393 |
| Year 11 | 81 | 208 | 146 | 3 | 6 | 47 | 11 | 395 |
| Year 12 | 48 | 160 | 116 | 3 | 4 | 34 | 0 | 295 |
| Year 13+ | 39 | 162 | 100 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 1 | 278 |
| Total | 312 | 938 | 634 | 13 | 25 | 206 | 13 | 1712 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 42 | 149 | 97 | 4 | 4 | 34 | 0 | 265 |
| Age 14 | 82 | 220 | 135 | 3 | 9 | 64 | 1 | 392 |
| Age 15 | 89 | 209 | 142 | 1 | 8 | 49 | 3 | 390 |
| Age 16 | 46 | 155 | 122 | 4 | 4 | 35 | 7 | 298 |
| Age 17 | 48 | 168 | 94 | 1 | 0 | 24 | 1 | 284 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 35 | 34 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 71 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Total | 312 | 938 | 634 | 13 | 25 | 206 | 13 | 1712 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
79%
| Aorere College | 79% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77.1% |
| Māori | 58.8% |
| Pacific | 76.8% |
| Asian | 88.6% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 79% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
68.8%
| Aorere College | 68.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 71.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.3% |
| Māori | 42.5% |
| Pacific | 66% |
| Asian | 81.6% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 68.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
43.9%
| Aorere College | 43.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 47.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 40.5% |
| Māori | 20% |
| Pacific | 39.8% |
| Asian | 60.5% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 43.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
11.9%
| Aorere College | 11.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.7% |
| Māori | 8.8% |
| Pacific | 7.9% |
| Asian | 21.1% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 11.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
78.7%
| Aorere College | 78.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77.6% |
| Māori | 56.3% |
| Pacific | 76.8% |
| Asian | 87.7% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 78.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
40.2%
| Aorere College | 40.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 38.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 41.5% |
| Māori | 78% |
| Pacific | 47.2% |
| Asian | 18.9% |
| Other | 16.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 63.1% |
| Total | 40.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.7%
| Aorere College | 5.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.8% |
| Māori | 3.1% |
| Pacific | 8.6% |
| Asian | 2.6% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.6%
| Aorere College | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.5% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 2.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 497
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 5 April 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (5 April 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 5 April 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1701 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2015
1483
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 October 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 5 April 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Aorere College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Aorere College is a large, multi-ethnic co-educational school in South Auckland. The school caters for students from year 9 to 13. The school vision is to produce students strong in their culture and identity with strong connections to the community, who are successful in their aspirations.
Aorere College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
students experience success in their learning progress in achievement, consistent high attendance and engagement in learning
to develop a local, bicultural curriculum
teachers demonstrate expertise in their pedagogy, which leads to the consistent delivery of high-quality learning contexts and practice, that underpins student success.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Aorere College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the development and implementation of a bicultural local curriculum to support the engagement and achievement of all students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to improve Māori and Pasefika student attendance, engagement and achievement
to develop deeper partnerships with the community, particularly with mana whenua , Māori and Pacific families
to integrate and locate a pedagogical emphasis on Culturally Responsive and Relational Pedagogy within a culturally responsive curriculum
to embed national priorities such as the Curriculum Refresh, Mana Ōrite , NCEA changes and the NZ Aotearoa Histories within the school curriculum.
The school expects to see
improved student engagement and achievement, particularly of Māori and Pacific students
consultation with the community to inform learning programmes
improved attendance of students
teachers supporting students to develop a strong sense of identity and purpose and achieve success
effective pedagogical practices demonstrated by teachers.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to develop a bicultural local curriculum to support the engagement and achievement of all students.
an established professional learning programme focused on developing teacher skill in applying Culturally Responsive and Relational Pedagogy, Literacy and Numeracy
an on-going commitment to review teaching and learning practices through a Rongohia te Hau framework
a school wide focus on tracking student achievement, setting goals and evaluating progress that includes students, families and teachers.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing and strengthening relationships with whānau and aiga
gathering student and community voice in the development of the school curriculum
continuing to develop teacher capability and skill through professional learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Filivaifale Jason Swann Director Review and Improvement Services (Northern) Northern Region | Te Tai Raki
5 April 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).